The Long Distance Ski Championship


Ski Classics is operated by the company SC Long Distance Skiing AB, owned by W sportsmedia, Vasaloppet and Birkebeinerrennet.

Ski Classics was created in cooperation between W sportsmedia, the athletes and the events representatives in order to enhance the world of long distance skiing. Ski Classics is unique by having Pro Teams and Amateurs as well and men and women on the same start line. The long distance skiing events still symbolize the strong traditions and classical settings that cross country skiing used to be all about, from a combined mass start where several thousand of skiers break the start line together to the drama of head to head between skiers as the finish line approaches. 

Ski Classics intially began in 2007 with distribution of the Swedish race, Vasaloppet, outside of Sweden. Vasaloppet is a TV institution and part of the folklore in Sweden and the next step in order to grow further was to internationalize the TV product outside of Sweden to potentially reach new audiences and markets. Since the TV market asked for a series of events in order to be able to work with partners and audiences over time, the market was approached to understand the potential to uplift additional long distance cross country skiing events as part of an international TV-product.

Ski Classics as a tour was launched in front of the 2011 ski season, combining the most traditional long distance cross country skiing events in Europe into a TV product. 2016 the series consists of 10 events, from the Prologue raced as a Team Tempo to the Ski Classics Final, rounding up the season and hosting the season review prize ceremony. The Ski Classics final will 2016 be held in Åre, Sweden. The long distance ski races are unique winter sport events combining professional and amateur skiers through picturesque landscapes across Europe.

Ski Classics consist of 4 competitions within each event, the yellow champion bib, the green sprint bib, the pink youth bib and the Pro Team competition.

Ski Classics Event Winners

Last Name First Name  SC Victories
Boner Seraina 15
Smutna Kateřiná 11
Eliassen Petter 10
Aukland Anders 9
Johansson Norgren Britta 8
Gjerdalen Tord Asle 6
Dahl John Kristian 5
Aukland Jørgen 4
Kowalczyk Justyna 4
Ahrlin Jerry 3
Brink Jörgen 3
Nyström Susanne 3
Řezáč Stanislav 3
Hansson Sandra 2
Kveli Laila 2
Eide Pedersen Morten 2
Kjølstad Johan 2
Nygaard Andreas 2
Hansson Jenny 1
Ishida Masako 1
Johaug Therese 1
Kalla Charlotte 1
Johnsrud Sundby Martin 1
Chernousov Ilya 1
Rotcheva Olga 1
Pettersen Øystein 1
Richardsson Daniel 1
Shevchenko Valentina 1
Skofterud Vibeke 1
Svendsen Sara 1
Tikhonova Julia 1
Tynell Rikard 1
Østensen Simen 1

Ski Classics Legends 

In order to become a Ski Classics Legend, a skier need to win 5 individual events, also wins in events that have been part of Ski Classics before the tour was created counts. (Prologue does not count)

Last Name First Name  SC wins
Aukland Anders 16
Boner Seraina 15
Stanislav 14
Smutna Katerina 9
Johansson Norgren Britta 8
Eliassen Petter 8
Aukland Jørgen
Grip Jenny 7
Svärd Oskar 7
Gjerdalen Tord Asle 6
Ahrlin Jerry 6
Dahl John Kristian 5
Tynell Daniel 5