The Long Distance Ski Championship

Jizerská 50

This season the Jizerská 50 will be held for the 51th time and has become the biggest cross-country skiing race in Central Europe. The Czech Republic’s Jizerská 50k race began in the late 60’s as a test event for mountain climbers when preparing for a mountain climbing expedition. The first race took place on the last Saturday in January 1968. Where 52 competitors participated and ran along the Jizera Mountains from Bedrichov to Korenow and back again. In the 1970 the participating field included the members of expedition Peru 1970, who four months later were buried by a rockslide under Huascaran. The fourth year was then held under the epithet: the memorial expedition Peru 70. This proved to enhance the race’s popularity and the number of participants has grown quickly since then. 

The track of the Jizerská 50 is located in the beautiful Jizera mountain region, where the start of the race is in the mountain village Bedrichov and passes through the checkpoints Kristianov, Hranicni, and Jizerka before turning back via Smedava and Hrebinek to the finish line in Bedrichov. The participants will have to face the challenging and charming landscape of the Jizera Mountains.

After Vasaloppet and Birkebeinerrennet, it is the third oldest long-distance ski race using the classic technique in Europe.



Facts About Jizerská 50

Live Center 2017/18

GPS Tracking

Sunday, February 18th, 2018
50km Classic Technique
Bedrichov, Czech Republic

Start Time 
Women CET 09.15
Men CET 09.30 

Visma Ski Classics Climb
11km Na Kneipe

Visma Ski Classics Sprint
23km Jizerka

Record number of participants
6 500

Results 2017/18

1. Morten Eide Pedersen BNB 02:05:27
2. Oskar Kardin SAN 02:06:14
3. Andreas Nygaard SAN 02:06:21

1. Britta Johansson Norgren LAG 02:26:47
2. Katerina Smutna 02:27:26
3. Sara Lindborg SER 02:30:34

Visma Skier of the day awards Season VIII

Britta Johansson Norgren, LAG 
Andreas Holmberg, SER 
(Kaiser Maximilian Lauf)
Morten Eide Pedersen, BNB 
(La Diagonela)
Joar Andreas Thele, LYN 
Ermil Vokuev, RMT 
Tord Asle Gjerdalen, SAN
Masako Ishida, KOT